Grandma A’s Recipe Box: Norm’s Chocolate Cookies

This week’s recipe card is delightfully spotted and stained. They’re called Norm’s Chocolate Cookies, and the corner is dates 1948. I believe this is Grandma A’s handwriting, and my best guess at the date means that they would have been married but not had children yet. (Correct me if I’m wrong, anyone.) I wonder where Grandpa A got the recipe? Is this something his mother made for him? Something he invented?

The recipe, as written:

Norm’s Chocolate Cookies

1/2 C Crisco (or other shortening) melted
1 C brown sugar (packed
Mix until smooth & sticky.
1 egg & pinch of salt [then there’s something unreadable here – whole?]
2 bars of unsweetened chocolate (melted)
1 t. vanilla
1 1/2 C sifted flour
1/2 C milk
1 C (or less) of dates or nuts, or both (cut up)

Mix in order given, alternating part of flour and part of milk. While recipe doesn’t call for leavening, sometimes I use 1/2 t soda with the flour. Fold in the fruit, drop by spoonfuls on slightly greased tin in oven of (325-350F). Frost with powd. sugar-choc. frosting.

And here’s what they looked like (taken as the sun was setting):

Gratuitous close-up shot:

Notes:
These were very interesting, not at all what I was expecting. I rarely bake with shortening, so I’m not as familiar about how it behaves as I am with butter. I was expecting these to spread thinly, and they didn’t spread or change at all. They look almost like chocolate meringues, but there’s no whipped egg white in the recipe.

They’re light, crispy, not too sweet. The milk confuses me a little bit – you would normally add a liquid like that to a cake mix, not a cookie batter. I might try them again and just leave out the milk, see what difference that makes.

Oh, and gratuitous shot of tonight’s sunset:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

