Epic Scrabble WIN


I just found these photos on Greg’s camera, and I have to share them. This is from a game of Scrabble we played last winter, and I’ll show you the complete progression of how this amazing miraculous epic thing happened. (The end result of this game, of course, is that Greg kicked my butt, but that’s normal.)

Here’s the first couple of turns:

So the opening move was DIMMER, I believe, followed by SHRINED, and then MAW. I think the first move was mine in this game, but it was a year ago, so who knows?
The next move was ID, which had to be Greg, since I rarely play words like that (which, moving backwards, means I was right – I started this particular game).
And that must mean I played IXIA, although I have no memory of even knowing what on earth that means. [Note: from Wikipedia — “The genus Ixia consists of a number of cormous plants native to South Africa from the Iridaceae family and Ixioideae subfamily.” There you go.]
All of that set Greg up perfectly for his next turn. What you’re about to see is the most monumental Scrabble move I have ever seen (granted, I don’t play a lot of competition Scrabble).
Greg played C A N D A T E and used the existing ID to create CANDIDATE. The Scrabble dictionary didn’t even recognize this as a word, because it’s a nine-letter word which would normally be impossible to create with seven letters. Here’s how it scored:
There’s a double letter under the first and last letters here, so according to the official rules, the word is doubled and then the doubled score counted again. So adding up the letters, we have 3 + 1 + 1 + 2 + 1 + 2 + 1 + 1 + 1, which is 13. Doubled is 26, counted again is 52, plus 50 points for using all of his letters, is 102 points. For a single word.
Pretty neat, huh?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Epic Scrabble WIN

  1. Renee says:

    Wow, nice! I’ve been playing WordFeud on Android a lot lately, so I can appreciate the difficulty of this. I always wondered how the scoring worked in these situations. I think the highest I’ve ever played was 60-something, and I’ve never come close since!

  2. wellmet says:

    Yeah, it was pretty impressive. 🙂

  3. Dan'l says:

    That is pretty awesome.

  4. wellmet says:

    Yeah, it was a pretty awesome moment. I totally didn’t mind losing that game.

Leave a Reply

