Ricotta Pancakes with Cranberries and Pine Nuts

I’m trying to establish a Sunday morning routine of fancy breakfast (well, fancier than our normal breakfasts, anyway), the Washington Post, and some good Vitamin D time in our sunroom. I’ve had this recipe in my reader list for a long time, and it seemed like a good time to try it. These are definitely not sweet, sugary, coma-inducing pancakes – there’s actually no sugar included. They’re thick, intense pancakes, good with a simple drizzle of warm honey and some fresh fruit, and I’m guessing the  leftovers will travel well for some work-morning breakfasts later in the week.

From BrokeAss Gourmet: Ricotta Pancakes with Cranberries and Pine Nuts

We made these exactly as written, so I won’t reproduce the recipe here. They were extremely tasty, and extraordinarily healthy. I couldn’t even finish two of them.

When I make them again, I might use half whole wheat flour, and I probably wouldn’t use the pine nuts. As much as we love the pine nuts, and we do have a good cheap source for them, you couldn’t taste them or even really feel their texture in the pancakes, so it doesn’t seem worth it. Maybe a different kind of nut? Currants would also be tasty here. (When aren’t currants tasty?)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

