CSA Week Eleven: Ingredients

This weekend is the harvest party for our CSA, which includes the chance to pet a chicken, and sadly, I won’t be here. But it was marvelous last year, very much a treat to walk through the rows of plants where our food has grown all summer. I’ll be out of town this weekend, which means that I have to plan carefully.

This week’s basket contains lettuce, parsley, chard, potatoes, scallions, zucchini, summer squash, cherry tomatoes, tomatoes, peppers, hot peppers, cucumber, and green beans.

Expanded view:

The plan:

  • Frittata with zucchini, potatoes, and smoked salmon
  • Minestrone soup with green beans, zucchini, tomatoes, and swiss chard
  • Salade nicoise
  • Shred and freeze the rest of the zucchini
  • Slow roast the remaining tomatoes
  • Blanch and freeze any remaining swiss chard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to CSA Week Eleven: Ingredients

  1. Tammy McLeod says:

    What will you do with your hot peppers? We just made a sea food curry that was to die for! Used green beans, sweet potato and hot peppers.

  2. rebekah says:

    Are beet greens like swiss chard, in terms of being able to freeze them, I mean? I froze a bunch of spinach a couple weekends ago but I’ve got a ton of beet greens and I KNOW we can’t eat them all within the next couple weeks… Would you attempt to freeze them?

    I envy your baskets, by the way.

  3. wellmet says:

    Tammy, I’m not sure yet – they’ll keep until I get back, so I’m not worried about them. I’ll probably end up making salsa, which is what I usually do.
    Rebekah – I would certainly think so, it’s definitely worth a try. I assume you blanched and then froze spinach, and I would do the same with beet greens (or chard, or mustard greens, or…)

  4. rebekah says:

    Yes, I blanched them before I froze ’em. πŸ˜‰ I’ll give it a try this weekend and see if it works out.

  5. wellmet says:

    Let me know how it turns out! πŸ™‚

  6. Jeff says:

    Potatoes -> Potato salad

  7. sweetlife says:

    great basket, can’t wait to see the frittata

    sweetlife

Leave a Reply

