Vegetable Pizza

There’s not really much to say about this, except that you have to try this. Now. I love making pizza crust, but it usually ends up thinner than I like; this one was tender, tasty, and more like takeout pizza than usual. And by takeout, I mean national chain takeout, not good neighborhood pizzeria takeout. But sometimes that’s what you want.

I normally wouldn’t make this on a weeknight, but I wasn’t all that hungry when I got home from work, and Greg was working late. So I started the crust in my stand mixer, let it knead for about ten minutes, and then spread it in two cast iron skillets as directed, covered them with towels, and let them rise for an hour and a half while I went out hunting vintage fabric. When I came back, they were ready to go (with some more pressing and shaping, of course, now that the gluten had relaxed and the yeast had done its yeasty work), so I topped them and stuck them in the oven. Of course, this meant I didn’t eat until after 8, but that was ok. Huge thanks to Rebekah for this one!

Rebekah’s pizza crust

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vegetable Pizza

  1. rebekah says:

    oh yay! i’m glad you liked it. sometimes i don’t want a thin crust crispy pizza but a chewy, soft one. i’m impressed you made it on a weeknight! what did you top it with?

  2. wellmet says:

    Ooh, I didn’t mention what I put on it, did I? That was silly of me. Shredded zucchini, fresh tomato, ricotta, and mozzarella. šŸ™‚

  3. rebekah says:

    that sounds good and simple. i haven’t tried shredded zucchini on one yet. i might have to now …

  4. wellmet says:

    yeah, shredding zucchini is one of my favorite ways to deal with it when it gets overwhelming – shredded zucchini can almost disappear into almost anything, which means you get your veggies without having to feel like you’re eating six pounds of more vegetables. šŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: CSA Week Ten: Summary « One Hour of Home

Leave a Reply

