Seven Vegetable Couscous

E has been talking about this lately, and I’m glad, because I hadn’t thought about it in years. Hannah and I either found or invented this for some Jewish celebration we were holding – probably a seder? help me out here, friends, I know we were in the house on Ells Ave – and it’s a delightful, filling, relatively healthy meal that takes less than half an hour. Always a good thing to have in your arsenal. If I remember correctly, the seven different vegetables bring luck, love, and wealth (and if I don’t remember correctly, they’re at least good for you…). Of course, you have to define vegetable a little loosely here, but let’s not worry about that. These could be any seven vegetables that sound good – green beans, broccoli, cauliflower, spinach, sweet potatoes, you name it. I wouldn’t use beets, the color would be weird.

This is another great recipe to just start chopping and cooking as you go, as long as you start with longer-cooking veggies and work your way down.

Seven Vegetable Couscous

  • 1/2 medium onion, diced (or leeks, or shallots)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 zucchini, diced

Saute these together until tender in a little olive oil.

Add:

  • 2-3 C stock (chicken, veggie, what have you)
  • 1 C frozen thawed butternut puree (if you have fresh butternut, by all means use that – this is what was in my freezer from last winter)
  • turmeric, ground ginger, cinnamon, a little spice (chipotle powder, cayenne, something) and some smoked paprika
  • 1 C raisins

Bring to a boil and simmer for 5-10 minutes to let the flavors blend.

Add:

  • 1 1/2 C couscous
  • two diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 C peas
  • the kernels of two ears of corn

Turn the heat off, and let sit for 10 minutes.

That’s it – there’s more flavor here than you’d think, and it’s extremely tasty.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seven Vegetable Couscous

  1. Pingback: CSA Week Nine: Summary « One Hour of Home

  2. Oh my, I love a good couscous salad. Quinoa too. I usually put tomatoes, cuke, green onion, black olive, carrot and zucchini in mine. Last week I had one from my local grocery store that was greek-inspired, with tomato, cucumber, artichoke hearts, feta and bell peppers.

    I will have to try raisins in mine; I love raisins in curries and chicken salads and with other mostly-savory dishes.

    It certainly is one of those adaptable, clean-out-the-fridge dishes, light and perfect for noshing as a summer lunch or snack–or breakfast!

  3. wellmet says:

    Yeah, I need to eat more quinoa and less couscous. But we love raisins in savory dishes, especially curry too – and dried currants.

Leave a Reply

