Pasta with Pesto, Zucchini, Ricotta, and Corn

This is another invented dish that turned out better than I expected. I’m a huge ricotta addict, especially after moving to the east coast and discovering that the brand of ricotta that Hannah craved after she left the east coast was available in our grocery store. Of course, it took me more than a year to figure that out, because Hannah never mentioned the brand, but she visited and saw it in the store and danced a jig in the dairy aisle. Since then, it’s been a constant fixture in my fridge, and I put it in almost everything. (Sidenote: softly scrambled eggs with ricotta and fresh chives? Divine.)

Anyway, this was serendipitous, except for one thing. I was going to make fresh pesto with the mountain of basil that is taking over my kitchen (seriously — I put a bunch of basil in a tall glass with a little water, and not only is it still fresh and vibrant several weeks later, the stalks of basil have grown roots. I can’t make this up.), but my food processor is broken. So I pulled the last of last year’s pesto from the freezer, and threw that in instead.

Pasta with Pesto, Zucchini, Ricotta and Corn

  • 2 zucchini, chopped finely (about the size of kernels of corn, or the tiny shell pasta I was using)
  • 1/2 cup pesto
  • 1 c ricotta
  • kernels from 1-2 ears of corn (in our case, Showalter’s famous local Ambrosia corn
  • 3/4 lb pasta (tiny shells is what we were using)

This is ridiculously simple…toss the cooked pasta with sauteed zucchini, pesto, ricotta and corn. Done.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pasta with Pesto, Zucchini, Ricotta, and Corn

  1. Tammy McLeod says:

    This sounds like a perfect summer pasta dish and I appreciate it as I am looking for ways to use up zucchini.

  2. wellmet says:

    Thanks! I always love new ways to use zucchini too. 🙂

  3. Pingback: CSA Week Seven: Summary « One Hour of Home

Leave a Reply

