Zucchini Garden Chowder

From Simply in Season, one of the Mennonite Central Committee cookbooks. I’ve owned More with Less for several years (thanks, Hannah!), but was delighted to discover: a) there are two more books, Simply in Season and Extending the Table (and they’ve just released another one about canning), and
b) that the woman who started this project, Mary Beth Lind, is from Harrisonburg, so lots of the recipes submitted are from here as well. Delightful!

Zucchini Garden Chowder

  • 2 med zucchini, chopped
  • 1 med onion, diced

Saute until tender, about 5 minutes.

  • 3 T flour
  • salt and pepper

Stir into veggies, then add about 3 C water gradually to make a smooth stock.

  • veggie or chicken bouillon

Add to stock and let simmer for 5-10 minutes.

  • 2 med tomatoes, chopped (I used cherry tomatoes here, because it was all I had left)
  • 1 can evaporated milk
  • corn (I cut the corn off one ear, although it could have used more)

Let simmer for a few more minutes, then add:

shredded cheese (Cheddar or Colby-Jack is good – the recipe also calls for Parmesan, but I don’t bother – I figure there’s enough dairy and fat in there)

Absolutely yummy. We made this last year, which I know because my notes in the cookbook say “7-2-09: Used CSA veggies, skipped Parmesan – very tasty!” I love leaving myself notes in my cookbooks. My mother would kill me if she knew.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zucchini Garden Chowder

  1. Pingback: CSA Week Six: Summary « One Hour of Home

Leave a Reply

