CSA Week Six: Summary

The ingredients:

Beautiful red and green lettuce, cilantro, cucumbers, summer squash, shallots, cherry tomatoes, green peppers, tomatoes, swiss chard, and beets.

The plan:

  • Toasted tomato and avocado sandwiches with mayo and havarti (avocadoes will always be my non-local weakness) – these were phenomenal, but you don’t need directions for this
  • Frittata with whatever is left that needs to be eaten We ended up not doing this, since nothing else needed to be eaten
  • Zucchini garden chowder
  • Stuffed veggie burritos
  • Spanakopita with swiss chard (no changes since the last post about Spanakopita, except that this one used all swiss chard)
  • Roasted beets – this we did as well, but I didn’t take pictures, since they’re just roasted beets.

Greg used some of the roasted beets in a pasta dish with blue cheese (seriously, pasta with roasted beets and blue cheese? very yummy. you must trust me.), and the rest are waiting to go in salads and such. One rant about roasting beets: all the directions say to toss with olive oil and roast, let cool, and then slip the skins off with your fingers. I have never ONCE been able to “slip” the skins off, I usually end up hacking them off with my fingernails, which then dyes the underside of my fingernails bright reddish-purple for several days. Why does this not work for me? Do I need to plunge them into cool water when they come out of the oven, like I would when peeling tomatoes?

One other note: I haven’t used any of the green peppers we got in this basket, and (ooh! sneak preview of what’s in week seven’s basket!) we just got more. So now I have five green peppers in the fridge. Fortunately, I have a plan for them. But still, it seems kind of odd. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

