Scallion crepes with greens and ricotta

This was adapted from Deborah Madison’s brilliant Local Flavors cookbook, and we’ve made these many times. It’s a basic crepe recipe, and you add thinly sliced scallions after pouring the crepe batter into the pan. I invented a filling for the crepes based on what we needed to use up, rather than what Madison suggested, and Greg created a mustard cheddar sauce for them because we thought it would go nicely with the broccoli we ended up using in the filling instead of the bok choi greens I planned to use. So dinner was reinvented on the fly, which was fun – and tasty.

However, I discovered (for the second time, mind you), that I despise the recipe for crepes in Madison’s book. I love the concept, but there’s something drastically different between her recipe and my mom’s (her crepe batter is much much thinner, which makes it very difficult for the crepe to set on the bottom, no matter how hot and perfectly lightly greased the pan is. So I ended up whisking in a lot of additional flour to the batter that I made to thicken it so that it would have a chance to set before it burned and stuck to the pan, and things worked beautifully from there. And, since I’m a big fan of writing notes in my cookbooks, I added a large note that says “Do NOT use this crepe recipe! Brilliant concept, dumb crepe recipe. Use Mom’s instead.”

So here’s a rough guide to what we actually did, instead of what the recipe called for:

Mix batter for crepes (I think, off the top of my head, my mom’s recipe is two eggs, one cup milk. one cup flour), and let rest for 30 minutes or so while you make the filling.

The filling we invented was one head of broccoli, chopped finely, sauteed in a little olive oil with half a can of diced tomatoes (they were sitting in my fridge and I needed to use them up. I let that simmer and saute until all the tomato liquid was absorbed and evaporated, and then added a couple of tablespoons of ricotta.

We made a basic white sauce, on the thinner side, and added some champagne-garlic mustard (if you’ve never tried this, you have to – I literally buy it by the case! Rothschild Farms Champagne Garlic Mustard) and some sharp cheddar.

And it looked a little something like this:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scallion crepes with greens and ricotta

  1. Pingback: 0629 Platter Salad | Outpost 505

  2. Pingback: CSA Week Four: Summary « One Hour of Home

Leave a Reply

