Salad with Beets and Goat Cheese, and Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

My original plan was to make some kind of soup with this week’s beets and cabbage, but I wasn’t inspired by the time I got to them. So I did some digging, and came up with two recipes that would use what we had, but that didn’t really go together all that well. But that’s sometimes the joy of a CSA – the produce is so amazing that it really doesn’t matter.

I came up with a lettuce salad with steamed beets and goat cheese, with an orange-balsamic vinaigrette, and stuffed cabbage rolls with ground turkey, rice, and a sweet/tangy tomato sauce. Both were very tasty, although I probably wouldn’t make cabbage rolls in 90F heat again – it just doesn’t fit.

The salad was a rough interpretation of this, from AllRecipes. I fiddled with it, of course, but I’m incapable of not fiddling. I didn’t use the walnuts, for one thing, so I also didn’t use the maple syrup they were roasted in. The cabbage rolls were a conglomerate of a bunch of recipes, and based on what I had on hand.

Overall, this was tasty, although a bit odd.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Salad with Beets and Goat Cheese, and Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

  1. Pingback: CSA Week Two: Summary « One Hour of Home

Leave a Reply

