CSA Week One: Ingredients

I wanted to do this last year, but life got in the way. But I’ve been asked by several people in the past few months how Greg and I deal with our CSA share each week (the question is usually “How do two people eat so many vegetables?” Sometimes the question is “What the hell do you do with all that kale?”). So my plan for the summer (let’s see if I can actually pull this off) is to post each week about what is in our basket, what we do with it, some recipes and meal ideas, some explanation of weird and random vegetables, etc.

Brief background: CSA stands for Community Supported Agriculture. We pay a local farmer up front, which gives them some consistent cash flow and security, and in return we pick up a half-bushel basket full of vegetables each week from late May through mid October. The basket contains whatever is ready to be harvested that week, so it’s all local, fresh, in-season, organic, chemical free, etc. Last summer was the first year we had joined a CSA, and I absolutely loved it. It changed the way I cook, and to some extent, it changed the way I think about food (and let’s be honest, Greg will eat almost anything). I mourned my CSA share all winter long, and am overjoyed to have it back again. We are delighted members of Radical Roots CSA.

Without further ado:

The contents of this week’s basket were salad mix (with edible flowers), a head of lettuce, kale, a bag of spinach, green onions, cilantro, rhubarb, and garlic scapes.

The expanded photo:

My rough plan for the week, which started to take shape as we drove away from picking up the basket:

  • Fresh pasta with garlic scape pesto and a fried egg, with salad
  • Spanakopita with salad
  • Zuppa Toscana (my version of Olive Garden’s spicy sausage, potato, and kale soup)
  • Rhubarb muffins (recipe from the CSA newsletter)
  • Quiche and a salad

I’ll do my best to post updates, recipes (or rough guidelines, anyway), and a final summary post at the end of the week. Here’s to another summer of marvelous eating!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to CSA Week One: Ingredients

  1. Dan'l says:

    Whenever I read ‘garlic scape,’ I can’t help but thinking it’s a portmanteau like ‘playscape’ or the Sandra Lee-concoction, ‘tablescape’. An entire diorama made of garlic I suppose.

  2. wellmet says:

    yes, it’s very much a Sandra Lee word. I’ve actually become her, you know.

Leave a Reply

