Kitchen Meme

I so very rarely do these meme things, but:

(stolen from E, previously from The Boastful Baker)

cooktop: gas, electric, induction?
Gas, fortunately. Although we had a glass top electric at the last house, and I liked it more than I thought it would.

side-by-side, freezer on top, fridge on top?
Freezer on top. We bought a new fridge last fall, and were so limited by the narrow space that is the only place to put a fridge in our kitchen. We can’t have a side by side in this house (or my ultimate dream, a side by side with the freezer on the bottom, which just makes so much sense to me).

apron or whoops?
Apron, dishtowel, and whoops, depending on what I’m doing and what I’m wearing.

mashed potatoes: by hand, ricer, or mixer?
Always by hand. I have a hand masher that works almost like a ricer – it took me years to find it, and I nearly screamed out loud in the store I was so excited.

sandwich or wrap?
Wraps, mostly.

pb & _________ ?
Curry. (Thai curry, not curry powder.)

pancakes: syrup or applesauce?
Syrup. Real maple syrup, I can’t stand pancake syrup. Canadian snob and all.

cake: scratch or mix?
Scratch. Made a chocolate apricot cake for Dan and Sarah over the weekend. Very tasty.

chili: beans or no?
Both are good, depending on the other ingredients.

napkin: cloth or paper?
Cloth.

BBQ: takes the whole weekend to make or take out?
Only at a good restaurant (good in this case meaning greasy spoon, not cloth tablecloths). This part of Virginia has some outstanding BBQ, including the Barbecue Ranch north of town that has so many pig statues, decorations, and other flimflam I can’t believe it hasn’t collapsed.

chicken: white or dark?
Definitely dark. Boneless skinless chicken thighs from the local butcher are my best friend.

ice cream: cone or dish?
Definitely dish – I’ve never liked ice cream cones, they always taste stale.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kitchen Meme

  1. rebekah says:

    1. erik is a knife fanatic, so he’s built me a up a LOVELY collection of really good knives. Henckel’s are our favorite. I really want some Shun, too. The ones that have a wood-grain looking finish on the blade are gorgeous …

    2. i’m stealing this.

    3. my KitchenAid changed my life. i’m going to run away with her, i love her so much.

  2. Sarah says:

    Maybe I just need to get a KitchenAid and then I would figure out how useful it would be. But they’re so expensive – if only I could rent one.

  3. rebekah says:

    that is true. they’re pretty expensive. borrow one from a friend who has one and try it out, if you can.

  4. Jeff says:

    It’s been like a month now. Where’s a new update?

  5. Dan says:

    Wow. Such sustained fading must place this blog’s current location somewhere near oblivion. Or, in Mike Tyson’s words, Bolivia.

  6. Sarah says:

    Have you seen my calendar for the last six weeks? 🙂

    Update coming soon, I promise – lots of vegetables included.

Leave a Reply

