Phone Dump

So after having this nifty phone for almost seven months, we finally figured out how to get photos off my camera phone and onto the computer. We’ve all tried this several times, with Bluetooth and cables and SD cards, and nothing worked. Dan tried, I tried, Greg tried, my dad tried — nothing.

And now suddenly, it works (thanks to Greg – still not sure what we did differently this time). So here’s a huge blog dump of completely unconnected photos from my phone over the last seven months.

At about 6am on election morning, the line for our polling place was already incredibly long. Definitely felt like a historic moment - voter turnout in Harrisonburg was extremely high last year. And I'm sappy enough that voting in my second federal election was a big big deal.

At about 6am on election morning, the line for our polling place was already incredibly long. Definitely felt like a historic moment - voter turnout in Harrisonburg was extremely high last year. And I'm sappy enough that voting in my second federal election was a big big deal.

On election night, Greg, Dan and I watched the returns at home. This was the first moment things started to shift, when CNN called Virginia for Obama.

On election night, Greg, Dan and I watched the returns at home. This was the first moment things started to shift, when CNN called Virginia for Obama.

And then the final crucial moment. I cried, Dan and Greg both said "Cool."

And then the final crucial moment. I cried, Dan and Greg both said "Cool."

This was my phone's wallpaper for a long time - silly puppy.

This was my phone's wallpaper for a long time - silly puppy.

This is Jack, Greg's parents' dog. It's an appropriately blurry photo, since Jack is rarely still (but very sweet).

This is Jack, Greg's parents' dog. It's an appropriately blurry photo, since Jack is rarely still (but very sweet).

This is the portrait of Gideon Blackburn, hanging in Blackburn College's Lumpkin Library. Gideon was the founder of Blackburn College, and our cat Gideon is named after him. (They look nothing alike.)

This is the portrait of Gideon Blackburn, hanging in Blackburn College's Lumpkin Library. Gideon was the founder of Blackburn College, and our cat Gideon is named after him. (They look nothing alike.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Phone Dump

  1. rebekahseats says:

    this was my first ever election that i voted in and i thought that was a pretty big deal. so yeah.

    you have gorgeous pets. black dog looks like my black dog…

  2. wellmet says:

    Thank you, my dear. Bailey is a German shepherd/border collie mix, but sometimes looks like a regular black lab. But he’s almost pure shepherd, especially from the side, and his behavior is VERY shepherd. He’s my baby. 🙂

  3. Jeff says:

    The proper name of MY dog is Biteface.

  4. Sarah says:

    I was always told it was Jack Armstrong, All American Boy.

  5. Jeff says:

    Unfortunately, you were told wrong.

  6. Mark says:

    Actually, it’s Jack “Biteface” Armstrong, All-American Dog, but he responds to just about anything, including Stinky and Stupid. 🙂

  7. Mark says:

    I feel your pain about the phone-to-computer photo-transfer problem. I bought an expensive-ish device that would supposedly make this computer Bluetooth-ready, from the AT&T store in Litchfield. What the salesman there failed to tell me was that the software that came with it WASN’T COMPATIBLE with the Shine phone I have (He knew what phone I have.) So when I returned it, he said “Oh, well you have to download an update from the website”. I was having none of that, and returned it for a full refund. I bought a micro-SD card and reader from Wal-Mart for 1/3 the price, and it works just fine.

  8. wellmet says:

    Ridiculous salesperson. I still don’t know what the original problem with my phone was, probably user error. 🙂

  9. Jeff says:

    I just attach the pictures to email and send it to an address I can access from a computer

  10. wellmet says:

    Yeah, I tried that too – it didn’t work when I tried it several months ago, although it might work now.

Leave a Reply

