Grandma A’s Recipe Box: Cheese Puffs

Next up from Grandma A’s recipe box is a magazine clipping for cheese puffs. These sounded so delightfully vintage 50s cocktail party, I couldn’t resist. This is one of the many recipes cut out of a magazine, glued onto an index card, and covered with a loose plastic sleeve. What’s interesting is that I’ve never seen these plastic sleeves for sale anywhere – I wonder if you can still find them. They’re actually a brilliant idea – they’re closed on three sides, but loose enough that there’s no problem getting a recipe card back inside. Also, I strongly feel like I recognize the typeface and layout here, but I can’t think what magazine this might have come from. There are no other clues, and I can’t remove the glued clipping without destroying it. Does anyone else recognize it? An old Reader’s Digest, maybe?

Here’s the recipe:

As written:

Cheese Puffs

1/4 lb grated natural sharp American cheese (1 cup)
1/4 cup soft butter
1/2 cup sifted all-purpose flour
1/2 teasp salt
1/2 teasp paprika
24 stuffed olives

About 4 or 5 hr. ahead: Blend cheese with butter. Stir in flour, salt, paprika; mix well. Wrap 1 teaspoonful of this dough around each olive, covering it completely. Arrange on ungreased baking sheet. Refrigerate.

About 1/2 hr before serving: Bake puffs in 400F oven 10 to 15 min. Serve warm. Makes 24.

The finished puffs:

These smell amazing, by the way. The dogs were wandering around the kitchen with their noses in the air, trying to figure out a) why I was baking at 8pm and b) what that amazing buttery cheesy smell was.

Gratuitous close-up:

Notes:

1. I used sharp cheddar, not “natural sharp American cheese.” I also used smoked paprika instead of regular paprika, and added about 1 T instead of 1/2 tsp.
2. I only had enough dough for 18 olives, not 24. I also patted the olives dry before wrapping the dough around them.
3. This is basically a shortcrust, a lot like making a savory shortbread, so it’s very forgiving and malleable. It was easy to pinch and smooth and shape around the olives, and actually very satisfying to do.

the verdict? These were even tastier than I expected. The sharp cheddar in the crust was perfect, the texture was flaky and tender, and the olives mellowed in the oven. These will definitely stay in our repertoire, absolutely worth making. I wonder what else we could use besides olives…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grandma A’s Recipe Box: Cheese Puffs

  1. Renee says:

    Looks like a great appetizer – will have to try sometime! Thx!

  2. wellmet says:

    Thanks, Renee. I’m still trying to figure out what else might be tasty tucked in this dough – maybe pickled onions? Maybe not. I don’t know. :)

  3. rebekah says:

    you had me at “buttery and cheesy.” freaking yum.

  4. wellmet says:

    thanks, rebekah – let me know if you try these. :)

  5. Pingback: Tonia’s Top 5: 1950′s Foods «

Leave a Reply

